Tags

,

I think the hardest part about blogging will be the post titles for sure…

I thought I would start this post by apologizing for leaving you hanging without a post over the weekend. I quickly realized how insane that idea was as no one is actually reading my blog yet. I mean no one. I’ve told precisely 3 people (B and two of my three sisters) about this little blog but I’ve yet to give anyone the address.

Fear of rejection much? Maybe. In fact, probably.

I’ve always been a bit of a late bloomer. As my mother can attest, I was over three weeks late for my own birth. I like to do things on my own time, when I am good and ready. I’m sure someday soon I’ll be ready to let the cat out of the bag to the family and friends about the blog, but not yet. I’m not sure why, but I want to get a few under my belt before I let the world in on it. And in the spirit of full disclosure, I’ll add this: It has taken me about 3 days to get myself organized enough to finish this post. Something I need to work on. The whole taking pictures, uploading them, organizing and actually getting the words on the page is all new to me and I’m quite slow at it presently. There’s also the fact that B and I are on a completely new routine since the new year that involves a lot less time spent together during the day (he was working with me a couple days a week for a few hours last semester which was awesome). Our nights now involve a lot more lunch packing, smoothie making (for another post), week planning, homework and catching up on each other’s days. That has interfered with my blog posting intentions a bit, but we should have the new routine down in a few weeks. 

I’m sure I’ll be whipping out daily blog posts in no time, but for now, please bear with me! It’s a work in progress, but I’m enjoying it. The good thing is I definitely have a lot to say. So much so that it’s hard to decide what to write about first. So for now I’ll just take it one post at a time. And please, if you have any questions about me, I’m happy to answer them.  

Anyway… On to the good stuff!

Friday night- Dinner w/B
So to kick off the weekend B and I decided last minute Friday afternoon to go out to dinner. It was MUCH needed and so nice to relax and catch up after a long short week. We went to a great restaurant that I’ve only been to once before. It was lovely, and I particularly enjoyed the booth in which we were seated. The backs were nice and high, well above our heads, so we couldn’t really see or hear anything going on around us. Very romantic. The food on the other hand left much to be desired. We started off with the baked brie which I was really excited about. It did not; however, live up to my expectations. It was more of a dessert than an appetizer. I like my brie with tart granny smith apples and this was served with baked, peeled, soft apples (that tasted like applesauce), strawberries and some sort of really sweet glaze. Not my favorite. I ordered a Caesar salad with grilled shrimp for my entree which was mediocre and the shrimp tasted really fishy. Brad had the rib eye, which is his favorite cut, and it was a pretty sorry looking steak. He said it tasted as good as it looked. Also, his mashed potatoes were over-mashed and gummy. Poor guy. Dessert was a peanut butter cup thing that tasted like fake sugar and whatever else it was in the freezer with. (Clearly, we ate it anyway.) Sorry to bore you with the details of a bad meal but it really didn’t matter to us as we were having too much fun talking about our plans for our move to DC and our future together, which is pretty much our favorite thing to talk about. We corked the rest of the bottle of wine we ordered (probably the best part of the meal) and headed home to enjoy the rest. It was snowing when we were leaving! Heavy, big, fat, flakey snow. Blizzardy snow. I love it. Snow like that makes the whole world quiet. It really made my night and I remember thinking while driving home that I am the luckiest girl in the world. We got home and hunkered down, happy to be warm inside with our sweet little puppy dog and very happy to be able to sleep in the next day and wake up to our world covered in bright white. 

Ok, I was going to finish telling you about the rest of my weekend but I ran out of time. I was excited to share some pictures FINALLY but that will have to wait until tomorrow. For now I’ll leave you with a teaser pic from my birthday dinner Saturday night with B, my mom and my sisters.

 

Off to do my really goofy workout!

-S

