I feel I owe you a bit of an apology for promising to post the rest of the weekend recap and then not posting it. I suppose this is because I was raised a Catholic and suffer the tremendous weight of the “Catholic guilt”. I let the evening get away from me last night, but in a good way. I took a long, much needed yoga class at my favorite studio, which I’ve mentioned before. Ashtanga Primary Series for the win. Although I usually prefer more flowy/vinyasa-y/hot/power stuff when it comes to yoga, I had a major yoga craving and that was what was available last night. I’m so glad I went; it was a great refresher class.

It was my first intense yoga class in months. Wow, am I ever feeling it today. SO sore. While I’m not sure I’d rely on yoga 100% for all my strength training, it’s definitely good for total body toning and stength building (and flexibilty and a whole host of other amazing benefits that I’ll leave to the experts to explain). How do I know this? Well it’s simple. When muscles you forgot you had (or didn’t know existed for that matter) are in serious pain the next day, odds are they got a decent workout in your yoga class last night. I’m being a little dramatic here, I’m not in serious pain so much as I’m a little sore in places such as my pectoralis major (thank you chaturangas), obliques and those teeny little ab muscles right below your hip bones… Thank you Utthita hasta padangustasana, walking today has been a joy.

UTTHITA HASTA PADANGUSTASANA D

Image source

Just looking at it hurts. 😉 It was a great class though and the instructor was so sweet and remembered me even though I hadn’t been there in forever. The thing I love about the Hilltop studios is not only are they SERIOUS about their yoga, but they also have phenomenal instructors who really make every student feel welcome and at home. It’s a delicate balance and I love an instructor who can motivate you to “find your edge” and push yourself as hard as you can physically (for example during a grueling boat/navasana sequence) while also making you feel comfortable enough follow your instincts and listen to your body. I’ve been to some intense, bootcamp like yoga classes and while I like to be pushed hard, I appreciate instructors who can offer their students the emotional support to push themselves even harder. Find your edge and soften, as they say. If you couldn’t tell, I am 100% a positive reinforcement person. Negative reinforcement and I don’t work quite as well.

So after class, I headed to the grocery store post-yoga blissed out and did our grocery shopping for the week. Lucky for me, almost everything I needed/bought (let’s be real here I did not need everything I bought) was on sale! Thank you Kroger. I went to the nice Kroger last night, as the one that is slightly closer to our house isn’t as great. It’s improving but the organic produce section is a bit lacking.

Ok so this is a little weird but I actually divide most of my grocery shopping between three different stores. I’ve pretty much got what to buy where down to a science. Ok, yes, I’m a nerd. The “nice” Kroger that I visited last night is great for greek yogurt (one of the good name brands, such as my beloved 2% Fage is usually 10 for $10. Can’t beat that, especially when you have a serious addiction like me.), Sunbutter (I go through a jar a week, easily) and organic veggies and fruit (green smoothie supplies). Meijer on the other hand is great for their Meijer Organics and Meijer Naturals products such as pasta noodles, canned tomatoes and beans, frozen fruit and vegetables, their store-brand sparkling water (bubbles!) and they also have a better selection of international foods.

Lastly, Horrocks is the BEST place for a huge produce run. Last year when B and I were eating almost 100% raw (more on that later) we would seriously fill a cart entirely full of nothing but fruits, vegetables and nuts. Just seeing the mounds of citrus, apples, peaches, kiwis, tomatoes, bell peppers, herbs, leafy greens, etc. would make me so happy! Plus their prices are great. Not a lot of organics, but a ton of local produce plus great local meats, cheeses, prepared and gourmet foods, and wine! They have a great craft beer and wine selection. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it! Unfortunately we don’t have a Trader Joe’s. There is a Trader Joe’s and a Whole Foods in my hometown about an hour away, but sadly Lansing hasn’t been so lucky yet. That’s one of the things I’m most looking forward to in D.C.! The TJ’s, and other great local markets.

Moving along… So when I got home it was already pretty late and I was exhausted and ready for bed. My brain cells weren’t functioning at a high enough capacity to blog coherently so I opted to break my promise to you. I apologize. But as blogging penance I will deliver a great finish to my last weekend recap this weekend and hopefully we can talk about some other stuff, like the goofy workouts I mentioned, what this mysterious green smoothie concoction is, and maybe why I am a pilgrim with no television. Mmm K?

Sounds good to me. For now I will bid you adieu as I have to get ready for my date with B tonight. 🙂 Then tomorrow I’m headed to my first pilates class (eeek! nervous) and then home to Royal Oak to see my mom, sister, and some friends. Ladies night tomorrow, can’t wait! You better believe I will be stocking up at TJ’s while I’m there.

Have a lovely Friday night all,

-S

P.S. Sorry about the lack of photos, I was without my computer today.

