Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m so excited to share my first recipe post with you! As I’ve mentioned before, I LOVE to cook and I do a lot of it at home. I don’t have any formal training, but I am constantly studying recipes and techniques, trying to make dishes tastier and more nutritious, and experimenting in general!

B is also very adventurous in the kitchen and quite a good cook. I’m sure I’ll have recipes of his to share in the future. Just recently we started including meat and dairy back in our diets. For almost two years prior we were vegans and we even tried out a very high raw foods diet for a few months last year. I’ll do another more comprehensive post about our food journey soon, but for now, suffice to say that we like trying out new things and it has been quite a journey to find out what makes us happiest and healthiest with regard to our food choices.   

So let’s get on with it shall we?

This recipe came together because I had a bag of bulk bulgur wheat in my cupboard that began staring me down every time I opened my cupboard door. Yeah, it had been there for a few months. I bought the bulgur with the original intent to use it in a Mediterranean dish known as “smeed” with stewed tomatoes, peppers and onions, but I had a little left over. I was craving a dish with Mediterranean flavors, but wanted something a little lighter and fresher than smeed that B and I could take to work for lunch.

This salad really delivered! It is light yet filling and would be great on a bed of greens. I hope you enjoy and please let me know if you give it a try!

Ingredients:

– 1 1/2 cups bulgur wheat
– 3 cups water or broth for cooking bulgur (I used vegetable bouillon + water)
– balsamic vinegar (a splash for cooking brussels sprouts and a splash for the vinaigrette dressing)
– 1 1/2 tsp hot & sweet mustard (I used Trader Joe’s brand but any kind will do)
– 1/2 medium onion, diced
– 1 bunch spinach, about 3 cups (I actually used 3/4 of this bunch because it was huge)
– juice of 1/2 lemon
– 2 cloves garlic
– 4-5 campari tomatoes, seeded and diced (or other vine ripened variety, grape tomatoes would be great too)
– 1/3 cup chopped parsley
– 1 1/2 cups brussels sprouts, halved
– 1/2 cup feta cheese
– 2 scallion onions, chopped
– salt, pepper, cayenne and oregano to taste
– olive oil for sautéing

First, prepare your bulgur wheat by boiling 3 cups water or broth. Once the liquid comes to a boil, stir in bulgur, remove from heat and allow to steep until liquid is absorbed, about 20 minutes. (If there is residual broth after steeping, simply drain the bulgur.) While bulgur steeps, sauté chopped garlic, onion and halved brussels sprouts in olive oil until brussels sprouts are tender.

Then, add 3 cups roughly  chopped spinach and a healthy splash of balsamic vinegar. Stir and allow spinach to wilt over low heat. Once wilted, remove from heat and combine with bulgur in a large bowl. Add seeded, diced tomatoes and feta chese and stir to combine.

Next, chop scallions and parsley and add to bulgur.

YUM!

To prepare the dressing add juice from 1/2 lemon (1/2-1 tsp), 1 tsp olive oil, 1 1/2 tsp mustard, a splash balsamic vinegar and salt, pepper, cayenne and oregano to taste (I used about 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1 tsp oregano). Whisk to combine.  

One of my favorite kitchen tools!

Lastly, pour dressing over bulgur salad and stir well. Either serve immediately, or if you have time, chill (covered) in refrigerator for a couple hours to allow flavors to develop. As I mentioned, this would be great over a bed of mixed greens and would further increase the nutrition component!

 Garnish with tomato and parsley!

This is a hearty yet healthy salad that can stand alone as a light lunch or dinner over greens, or serve as a side to your main course.

Hope you enjoy this and please let me know if you give it a try 🙂

 -S

