Tags

, , , , ,

Hungry? I am.

I wasn’t going to post today because I’m in a getting sick, in a horrible mood and uber grouchy but just looking at these pictures again is already brightening my mood.

Plus, you shouldn’t have to miss out on this DELICIOUS sandwich on my account… That’s just plain wrong.

DOUBLE PLUS, if you’re feeling like I am today, you could probably use some comfort food and that’s exactly what this is.

Where to begin? Well, it all started with this amazing bread B brought home from work last week. A co-worker’s son works at Panera and had brought a few leftover loaves in for the office. Three Cheese bread from Panera. Um, let me give you some unsolicited advice. Do NOT bring this into your house. Just don’t do it. You’re going to wind up with a serious belly ache because that’s what happens when you eat an entire loaf of bread in one sitting without coming up for air. I knew I was in trouble when I walked in the house after a long day and the whole house smelled like my childhood. Seriously, just toasting a slice of this stuff made the whole place smell like grilled cheese. I’m surprised I had enough restraint to even make a sandwich out of it. Like I’m literally shocked. 

 

Then again, it was worth it.

Is it bothering you that I didn’t put the two dots over the “u” in “uber”? Because it’s bothering me. No? Ok, must just be one of my neuroses. Carry on. 

Ok so get a loaf of this bread or don’t and use whatever you have on hand. But artisan breads are what are the cool kids are using. Not that I would know anything about that. Take two pieces of bread and butter each on one side only. I had to melt my butter and apply it with a brush because my butter was cold and the cool kids told me to. While you do that, put a non-stick or greased pan on medium-low heat.

Ok, now put your first slice of bread in the heated pan and add some sliced fresh mozzarella. Ideally your mozzarella would be bigger than these little mozzarella balls but that’s all I had on hand. 

Next, slice up a vine-riped tomato (or many tiny grape tomatoes if you’re into cute food like I apparently am) and add them on top of the mozzarella. Sprinkle on a little sea salt and some freshly ground black pepper…

Hey, who ate half my sandwich?

Next up is a layer of arugula, my favorite leafy green. Dooo it.

Lastly, spread your other slice of bread with dijon mustard, top your sandwich and flip it over in the pan. You could also add a drizzle of balsamic vinegar instead of mustard. Mmm that would be good. Shoot, now I need another loaf of bread. The cheese should be starting to melt at this point and your bread should be developing a golden buttery brown color.

Let it warm up a little on the other side, then remove from heat, plate, slice and serve. Alternately, you may choose to inhale over the kitchen sink. I’m just saying you have options here.

So that’s it, pretty nice and easy huh? 

Ok, so I’ve been thinking about it… Let’s be friends! Leave me a comment if you’re up for it. 

I’ll even propose a topic… How was your day? Are you in need of comfort food? 

Hoping for sunnier skies tomorrow. 🙂

-S

