Tags

, , ,

Howdy!

How is your Wednesday treating you? Well I hope! I’ve had a great day here. It’s 63 degrees and sunny in Lansing and I think it goes without saying that I am ecstatic.

I wanted to give you guys a quick recap of my first 2 days of clean”er” eating… So far things are going really well. Here’s hoping that continues. Here are my notes and some of my eats from Day 1 and part of Day 2…

3.6.12
Slept 11:00 p.m. until 6:30 a.m. Woke up feeling much more rested and alert but still very stuffy/sinus headache-y– that went away pretty quickly once I got moving. I was hungry before work so I had a handful of almonds and a large glass of ice water (LIFE BLOOD) and went on my merry way.

Here’s a pic of the lunch I packed the night before: we’ve got leftover millet and sautéed kale with red onion, garlic and grape tomatoes, carrot sticks, an orange and a grapefruit and a (be still my heart) Fage greek yogurt with a little TJ’s reduced sugar blueberry preserves to mix in if I’m feeling saucy. 

Oh, there’s a little unsweetened Baker’s chocolate in there to keep at the office as well 😉 Now, I mentioned that I am trying to stay away from dairy but I packed it in my lunch for a couple reasons 1) It’s Fage, and with regard to greek yogurt there is simply no comparison. It tastes utterly decadent without any of the guilt. (I go back and forth between the 0% and 2% depending on how much fat I want at the moment but the 2% is the best.) 2) I’ve heard that even those individuals with dairy allergies can usually tolerate greek yogurt. In fact, my little sister is lactose intolerant and she doesn’t have a problem with greek yogurt. 3) I’m cutting out so much dairy in other dishes and meals, I don’t think one greek yogurt every couple of days is going to make or break me, but I will be keeping track of whether I notice a difference on the days I eat Fage versus those that I don’t. Capice?

Ok so you probably want a glimpse of that glorious kale and millet dish I made the night before, don’t you? This is probably one of my all time favorite meals. So hearty and healthy and a great way to get some complex carbs, protein, a little healthy fat from the olive oil and best of all tons of greens! The best part is it came together in about 20 minutes.

   

The millet cooked perfectly in my new kitchen toy… a rice cooker! Rice cooker pictured here with a few of his new siblings. I told you we have a lot of kitchen tools. But they have all been incredible investments! My Vitamix gets used for green smoothies and countless other things almost every single day.

 

Ok, enough side-tracking. The next thing in my notes is from yesterday afternoon. It reads: 12:43 p.m. MAJOR CANDY/SUGAR CRAVING. Ha, I guess I didn’t realize how much extra sugar there is in things like bread and other delicious gluteny carbs and let’s be real, I really like a piece of candy or two at work. Luckily it’s usually dark chocolate but I guess I underestimated how much my body has gotten used to those little sugar blasts. I made a mental note to pack something naturally sugary for tomorrow’s lunch and took it as a sign that it was lunch time. (I had packed an orange and a grapefruit but I have the hardest time eating those darn things at work. People are always popping in and out of our office and they are just too messy for me to eat at work. I’m going to have to remember to peel those things the night before so they’re a little easier to manage.) 

So I ended up eating the rest of my carrots, kale and millet and a few bites of greek yogurt and took the fruit back home. Right before working out I had 1/2 a square of unsweetened Baker’s chocolate to tide me over until dinner.

I did 1/2 hour cardio/stairs workout and about 15 minutes of an arm workout with my 5 lb free weights. In my office, lol. Never gets old. I am thinking about investing in some heavier free weights soon though. The 5 lb-ers aren’t as challenging as they used to be!

Dinner was awesome but entirely deserving of its own post… homemade black bean burgers and some more leftover millet. YUM. I have to perfect the recipe yet, but when I do I will post. I’m thinking my girlfriend Katie might be my recipe guinea pig when she comes over for dinner tomorrow night. Sound good Kate? 🙂   

Oh, and the last thing I’m keeping track of is H2O. I ended up drinking 5 huge glasses of water and some bubbles (sparkling water) with dinner. I have to figure out how many ounces my big glass is, but when I do I’ll share.

What about you? How is your clean eating challenge faring? Any successes, pit falls or intense sugar cravings like me?  

Be back hopefully tonight or tomorrow with a recap on today. Off to work out and then enjoy this gorgeous weather with my favorite human and pug 🙂

-S

