Tags

, , , , ,

New breakfast love… Are you ready for this? Quinoa.

Image

I know what you’re thinking, but hear me out. When I was little, anytime we had Chinese food for dinner, there was always leftover white rice. My sisters and I would heat the leftover rice and mix it with milk and sugar, either as dessert that night, or for breakfast the next day. So good.

Anyway, a few weeks ago I had a craving for rice and milk–but I didn’t have any rice, or milk. But I did have quinoa and almond milk! I warmed up some quinoa that was leftover from our Mexican feast the night before (again, no rice) and added an equal amount of almond milk and a little bit of sugar. It was amazing. I am obsessed. It tastes like my childhood, but it’s actually pretty good for you! Although that wasn’t my intention.

I’ve been eating this every morning for breakfast. I can’t get enough of it. It’s so quick and easy, I just make a big batch of quinoa a few times a week and then heat up a little in the morning and add almond milk. I don’t like it hot (especially with the 90 degree days we’ve been having lately), but with the addition of the cold milk, it ends up being about room temperature. It’s healthy–quinoa is a great pseudo grain–high in fiber and protein, and a pretty inexpensive breakfast option!

Want to know what the best part is?

Image

Toppings!

Bananas are an all-time favorite cereal topping–I take after my Grandpa– but the possibilities are endless.

B and I have been going nuts on the cheap organic berries at Trader Joe’s lately, so I’ve been enjoying the strawberry/banana combo and raspberries.

Here are some other combos I’m looking forward to trying:

– Peaches & cream
– Papaya (I have one ripening on my window sill right now) and banana or pineapple
– Apple with cinnamon and raisin. I’ll probably warm the apple to soften it first though
– Blueberries… pomegranate… peanut butter… coconut flakes… pureed pumpkin and cinnamon in the fall…

You get the idea.

Hope you give this a try! And please let me know how you like it.

P.S. Did anyone else do the rice and milk thing as a kid? I have no idea where it came from…

Happy Wednesday All 🙂

-S

